Landon Parenteau Yesxgmz4wlu Unsplash (1)

The different levels of heatwaves and how to protect yourself, your pets and others

During the warmer months increased temperatures can be extremely dangerous. They can affect the young, elderly, seriously ill and pets. We work with our partners to ensure that these vulnerable groups are adequately supported.

There are four stages to a heatwave as defined by the Heatwave Plan for England (GOV.UK):

  • Level 1 – Normal level: be aware of what to do in a heatwave.
  • Level 2 – A heatwave is likely in the next few days.
  • Level 3 – A heatwave is happening.
  • Level 4 – A severe heatwave is happening.


Protect yourself and others

  • Stay out of the heat and keep out of the sun between 11.00am and 3.00pm.
  • Cool yourself down and drink plenty of water.
  • Keep your environment cool and place a thermometer in your main living room and bedroom to keep a check on the temperature.
  • Look out for others, especially isolated, elderly, ill, very young people and your pets, and make sure they are able to keep cool.


Additional information